Press agency SWNS won four out of the six prizes up for grabs at the 11th National Association of Press Agency Aawards in London on May 13.  

Deputy Features Editor Harriet Rose-Gale (pictured below with guest speaker Barry Rabbetts executive editor of The Daily Mirror) claimed two NAPA awards: Feature of the Year for her story about Bobbi Woodley who was sexually and mentally abused by her father over 30 years and The Kevin Fitzpatrick Award for her work on mistaken acid attack victim Andreas Christopheros (see below).

Ferrari News’s Adam Gillham (below with Rabbetts) won Exclusive Story of the Year with his piece about the decision by prison officials to keep M25 road rage killer Kenneth Noye at a maximum security jail amid fears he might be moved to an open prison ahead of being released.

Other winners included Peter Summers of SWNS for Picture of the Year after photographed an osprey as it snatched a Rainbow trout from a river (see below).

Alex Whitehead of Simon Wilkinson Pictures won Sports Picture of the Year, capturing a diver mid-descent at the 2015 diving world championships in Kazan, Russia (see below). Laura Elvin of SWNS picked up the Spec News Award (for a story sent in speculatively to newspapers on a non-exclusive basis) for her story about poppy seller Olive Cooke who killed herself after being hounded by 99 charities for donations.

Guest of honour Rabbetts was former executive editor of The New Day newspaper which had closed a week earlier after just 50 issues.

“A week really is a long time in newspapers,” he told journalists at the Grange City Hotel, Tower Hill. “There are many reasons why I believe The New Day closed but I don’t believe anyone in this room or in our industry wanted it to fail.

“It was a different kind of newspaper. It might not have been aimed at you or me but it was different. I truly believe it’s tragic that it didn’t work.”



The NAPAs was attended by over 100 people including executives from various newspapers, magazines, and national newspaper websites.

Napa chairman Jon Harris said: ‘’The quality of entries in this year’s awards was quite outstanding and is typical of the agenda setting content which our member agencies source, compile and distribute to all media on a daily basis.’’

Full list of results:

News Exclusive story – sponsored by Newslink Media Services

Winner: Adam Gillham – Ferrari Press

Second: Nick Constable – West Coast News

Third: Jess Owen – Cavendish Press


News Spec Story – sponsored by All Media Marketplace

Winner: Laura Elvin – SWNS

Second: Lauren Brown – Cavendish Press

Joint third: Stephen Walter – Solent News

Joint third: Glen Keogh – Cavendish Press


Feature of the Year

Winner: Harriet Rose-Gale – SWNS

Second: Daniel Harding – Talk To The Press

Third: Amy Sharpe – Talk To The Press


Kevin Fitzpatrick Award – sponsored by Grange City Hotel

Winner: Harriet Rose-Gale – SWNS

Second: Amy Sharpe – Talk To The Press

Third: Shanti Das - SWNS


Picture of the Year

Winner: Peter Sumners – SWNS

Second Daniel Ubertini – Solent News

Joint third: Alberto Maccagno – Solent News

Joint third: Alex Messenger – Solent News


Sports Picture of the Year – sponsored by Cannon UK

Winner: Alex Whitehead – SW Pix

Second: Raoul Dixon - North News and Pictures

Third: Allan Bentley – Cavendish Press